2012 Humanism In Medicine Essay Contest Scholarships

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award, administered by the Organization of Student Representatives (OSR) annually honors a medical school faculty physician (M.D. or D.O. degree) who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students. The nominee must also possess the desirable personal qualities necessary to the practice of patient-centered medicine by teaching ethics, empathy, and service by example.

The goal of the award is to emphasize, reinforce, and enhance the importance of humanistic qualities among medical school students and faculty. The presence of a caring, compassionate, and collaborative learning environment serves as positive reinforcement to prospective physicians of the desirability of such qualities in the doctor-patient relationship.

Previous Humanism in Medicine Award Recipients

2015:Elisabeth Wilson, MD, MPH, University of California, San Francisco

2014:Cynthia Haq, MD, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

2013:Lee Todd Miller, MD, Professor and Vice Chair of Education in the Department of Pediatrics, Director of Global Health Education Programs, David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles

2012: Chin-To Fong, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry and Chief of the Division of Genetics, Golisano Children’s Hospital of the University of Rochester Medical Center

2011: Henri R. Ford, MD, MHA, Vice President and Chief of Surgery, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles; Vice Dean of Medical Education, Professor, and Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs in the Department of Surgery, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

2010: George R. Buchanan, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

2009: Jonathan Woodson, MD, Boston University School of Medicine

2008: Yolanda Hill Wimberly, MD, Medical Director and Professor of Pediatrics, Morehouse School of Medicine

2007: Yasmin S. Meah, MD, Mount Sinai School of Medicine

2006: Robert J. Paeglow, MD, Albany Medical College

2005: Melissa A. Warfield, MD, Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics, Eastern Virginia Medical School

2004: Sharad Jain, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine Assistant Chief, Medical Service University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

2003: Samuel LeBaron, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Family Medicine Director, Center of Education in Family and Community Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine

2002: Edward Bell, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Director of Neonatology, Children's Hospital of Iowa at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

2001: Coleen Kivlahan, MD, MSPH Professor of Family and Community Medicine, Assistant to the Dean for Health Policy, Associate Chief of Staff for Clinical Outcomes, Director, Office of Clinical Effectiveness, University of Missouri-Columbia

2000: Richard P. Usatine, MD, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, Associate Clinical Professor of Family Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles, UCLA School of Medicine

1999: Andrew Hsi, MD, MPH, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Director of General Pediatrics, University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Who are we?

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) comprises individuals who have been recognized for practicing patient-centered medical care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members may be selected as 3rd and 4th year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) is an international initiative of The Arnold P. Gold Foundation comprised of over 15,000 medical students, faculty and administrators recognized for practicing compassionate, patient centered care. GHHS maintains a networked community which shares ideas, resources and support to sustain and advocate for humanism in medicine. For more information about GHHS watch http://bit.ly/GHHSvideo.

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation works to improve healing and healthcare outcomes by restoring the balance between the cutting edge science of medicine and compassionate, patient centered care. Learn more about their work at www.humanism-in-medicine.org.

GHHS Officers

President: Evan Madden
Vice President: Oksana Bailiff
Secretary: Pooja Sangani

What is our Role?

  • Sponsoring academic events to promote humanism and professionalism in medicine.
  • Continuing in the already strong service tradition at JCESOM where members create and implement community outreach projects.
  • Creating a mentorship program in which members act as role models and guides for first and second year students.


0 Replies to “2012 Humanism In Medicine Essay Contest Scholarships”

Lascia un Commento

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *